Australia restricts Sri Lanka at 212 runs; Lyon takes a five-fer

Team Australia managed to sweep down to clean the home side Sri Lanka by the end of 59 overs as the Sri Lanka batters managed to put up a decent score of 212 runs.

Australian skipper Pat Cummins initiated the attack after taking in the first wicket of openin batsman Pathum Nissanka, followed by Starc’s dominant bowling.

Nathan Lyon continued to bowl from one end and managed to get his first wicket after David Warner dived in for a wonderful catch which in no time got viral throughout the social media.

Nathan Lyon continued to strike from one end and Sweepson joined him after he took two back-to-back wickets claiming to take a historical hattrick but failed to achieve it.

Nonetheless Dickwell managed score from one and smashed a quick fifty but Sri Lanka’s 4 wickets were dismissed in just 7 overs after the Tea Break.

Sri Lanka have scored 212 in their first innings, allowing Australians to bat for almost 20 overs today.

Captain’s speech during the toss:

Pat Cummins; We were looking to bat first as well. We have managed to put up a XI (laughs). Thankfully, Travis has pulled up well and is playing. Two seamers, two spinners and a couple of spinning all-rounders. Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon and Swepson are the bowlers playing. It is weird seeing him (Hazlewood) seating on the bench, he is a world-class bowler but we have gone with Starc.

Dimuth Karunaratne: We are going to bat first. We know how the pitch is going to behave on days 4 and 5, so we want to take advantage of the conditions. Vandersay is playing. We are playing one seamer and three spinners.

Playing XI for both the teams:

Australia (Playing XI): Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey(w), Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Swepson

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Ramesh Mendis, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lasith Embuldeniya, Asitha Fernando