Tamannaah Bhatia’s No Make up Look: Have a Glimpse

Tamannaah Bhatia is a popular face of the entertainment industry. She is an actress who nailed it up, not only in the...
Trending Muslim Countries Including Pakistan Where Triple Talaq is Already Banned

Muslim Countries Including Pakistan Where Triple Talaq is Already Banned

- Advertisement -

In India Supreme Court declared Triple Talaq illegal. The court has ordered the government to make a law on it. Indian Muslim women have struggled a lot for this whereas in other Muslim-majority countries it is already banned. Let’s know about these countries:

1) Pakistan

Our neighbouring country Pakistan has already abolished this practice. In the year 1961, the Muslim Family Law Ordinance declared that a man who wants a divorce from his wife must send a legal notice to the chairman of a local council as well as send a copy of the notice to his wife.

2) Algeria

The other country comes in the line is Algeria. In Algeria, a divorce can be granted by the court only and that too, after a reconciliation attempt. The reconciliation period is up to a period of 3 months.

3) Egypt 

In Egypt, the wave of abolishing triple talaq emerged since the 12th century. The Hanbali scholar Ibn Taimiyah (1268-1328) stated that three ‘talaqs’ given at once counted as one ‘talaq’. In the year 1929, their government agreed with him and declared that the ‘instant triple talaq’ will be counted as one and can be revocable. Exception with this law was if three talaqs were given in three successive menstrual cycles as it was initially intended.

4) Tunisia

In the year 1956, being a Muslim majority country, this country took a bold step by announcing that the divorce could only be given in a court of law and that too, after a period of reconciliation.

5) Indonesia

As same as Tunisia here also Divorce can only be claimed before a court of law as per Indonesia’s Article 19 of Marriage Regulation.

6) Turkey

Turkey adopted the Swiss Civil Code in 1926. This law denies the existence, evidence, or truth of any religious laws on family and personal affairs. Hence the abolition of Triple Talaq.

7) Cyprus 

Cyprus adopted the Turkish Civil Code in the 1980s. Therefore, declared Triple Talaq illegal. 

8) Bangladesh

after getting independent from Pakistan in 1971, Bangladesh inherited its divorce laws. Here too, instant triple talaq cannot be upheld in a court of law.

9) Sudan

This African Muslim country followed in Egypt’s law of divorce with some amendments. After talaq is followed by an iddat period, the court prepares the official documents and the government formally recognizes the divorce.


Next Story

‘ABCD’ Fame Choreographer Kishore Shetty Arrested For Drug Peddling

The NCB (Narcotics Control Bureau) investigation is going on after the drugs angle in Sushant Singh Rajput Case. On the other hand,...


You May Like