India Earthquake In Delhi-NCR, Check Out The 5 Earthquake Zones Of India And...

Earthquake In Delhi-NCR, Check Out The 5 Earthquake Zones Of India And In Which Zone You Are Living

On Friday Morning, the moderate intensity earthquake hit Delhi and adjoining areas of the National Capital Region (NCR). According to the Meteorological department, the epicenter of the earthquake was Rohtak, Haryana. As per reported by United States Geological Survey, the quake measured 4.7 on the Richter scale. Fortunately, there were no reports of loss of life and property.

earthquake in delhi ncr

- Advertisement -

Source: The Indian Express

Earthquake Zones Of India

One of the major reason behind the high frequency and intensity of earthquakes is that the Indian plate is driving into Asia at a rate of approximately 47 mm/year. The earthquake zoning map of India divides India into 4 seismic zones (Zone 2, 3, 4 and 5).

Zone 5

It expects the highest level of seismicity. It covers the area with the highest risks zone and suffers earthquakes of intensity MSK-IX or greater. Zone 5 cover the region of North and Middle Bihar, Kashmir, central and western Himalayas, North-East Indian region and the Rann of Kutch.

Zone 4

Zone 4 is called as High Damage Risk Zone and it covers Jammu and Kashmir, the Patan area (Koyananager), Maharashtra, the northern part of Bihar (Raksaul) and Delhi.

earthquake zones of india

Source: NIDM

Zone 3

It is classified as s Moderate Damage Risk Zone and covers the parts of Kashmir, Andaman and Nicobar Island and the western Himalayas.

Zone 2

This zone is classified as the Low Damage Risk Zone.

Now You Can Get the Latest Buzz On Your Phone! Download the PagalParrot Mobile App For Android 

Next Story

Akshay Kumar’s 42 Years Divorced Ex-girlfriend is Dating Tiger Zinda Hai Actor Nawab Shah

Akshay Kumar has been a heartthrob of the 90s. Before marriage, he dated a number of actresses from Shilpa Shetty, Ayesha Jhulka...


More From PagalParrot