A historic decision was made in the Rajya Sabha of India when the BJP government led by Narendra Modi declared the revocation of Article 370 and 35A. These articles provide special privileges to the state of Jammu and Kashmir. Now Jammu & Kashmir is no longer a state but turned into a Union Territory. Its previous part Ladakh also get divided from it and turned into new territory too.

What is Article 370?

Article 370 is a controversial article deals with special powers conferred upon the state of Jammu & Kashmir. It allows the state constituent Assembly to make its own Constitution, thereby giving it an autonomous state power. Along with that, Article 370 also provides powers like the need of the concurrence of the state government if the central government plans to make amendments to the concurrent list of subjects. With that, an outsider also can’t purchase a piece of land in the area.

But as the article 370 and 35A have been revoked from the state with the mean of one nation one rule, here are other states also which hold the special status under Article 371. If it is about equality, the government need to revoke these articles too. However, still, the conditions in these states are not as worse as Jammu & Kashmir where terrorism prevails. Jammu & Kashmir is a disputed land between India and Pakistan. Near about 41,000 people lost their lives in last 27 years due to militancy in Kashmir. So the decision taken by the government of India recently is might in order to eradicate these terror activities from the state and bring peace.

However, let’s know about the states which hold a special status in India and where outsiders are not allowed to purchase land.


Under Article 371(A) no act of Parliament shall apply to the State of Nagaland in respect of the religious or social practices of the Nagas, its customary law and procedure, administration of civil and criminal justice involving decisions according to Naga customary law and ownership and transfer of land and its resources.


Under Article 371(G) Mizoram has similar provisions. An act of Parliament relating to religious and social practices of Mizo customary law and procedure, administration of civil or criminal justice involving decisions according to Mizo customary law, ownership and transfer of land and its resources will not apply to Mizoram unless State assembly decides to do so.

Assam, Manipur, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh

Under Article 371(B) Assam holds special provisions. Whereas, under Article 371(C) Manipur which became a State in 1972 and under Articles 371(F), 371(H) Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh, respectively hold special provisions.

Maharashtra and Gujarat

Yes, some of the regions of these two western states also have special provisions under Article 371.

Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka And Goa

Articles 371(D) and 371(E), 371(J), 371(I) special provisions are given to Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Goa respectively. Under Section 109 of the Karnataka Land Revenue Act, 1964, social or industrial organisations can purchase agricultural land with Government approval.

Haryana and Himachal Pradesh

Certain areas in the State have been declared ‘controlled areas’ to obtain land at these places one should obtain a certificate from the Government of Haryana. Whereas in Himachal Pradesh only an agriculturist belonging to the State can purchase agricultural land here.

Parts of West Bengal, Kerela and Rajasthan too have special provisions.

Fact check: Even after holding a special status, no occurrence of militancy or protests have ever noticed from these states against their status so it never bothered the government. People are living peacefully there. But in Kashmir, the situation is far different as it shares the border with Pakistan, Pakistan sponsors militant activities into the state. which leads to violence and the killing of people.