More money, more inflow, BCCI plans to add 2 more teams in 2021 IPL

Due to the pandemic, a spectator-less IPL 2020 has made the people extremely eager for IPL 2021. It could be a bigger and grander affair than the previous premiere leagues since the Indian Cricket Board is allegedly planning to introduce two new teams for the IPL in its 14th season. The two teams that will make it to the league will be finalized and revealed on December 24.

The treasurer of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Arun Dhamal, has interacted with AFP, confirming that the agenda of inducting the new teams is on the table and will be discussed in public on December 24th. He stated, “We will discuss it with the members and see what their views are and then take a call.”

The council is eager to profit off from the record audience turnout that it expects in 2021 due to Indians having to lead their lives behind closed doors throughout 2020. The 13th season of the Indian Premier League garnering record viewership could also be one of the driving factors behind introducing new teams to the wealthiest T20 league.

The IPL has drawn over 200 million viewers from India alone on multiple occasions. With an estimated brand value of $6.8 billion, its contribution to the country’s GDP has been tremendous. The pandemic has caused a setback for the country’s economy, so adding two different teams can help with lifting the country’s GDP. Since it is the richest T20 league globally, it offers high amounts to the franchisees and the players that play in the IPL.

According to reports, Virat Kohli garnered a phenomenal $2.3 million in 2020 as a batsman for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Presently, the Board is considering Ahmedabad to be one of the two new teams to join the IPL. Lucknow or Kanpur could take the other slot. Indian conglomerated RP-Sanjiv Goenka and the Adani Group were responsible for inducting Rising Pune Supergiant for two seasons of the IPL. Reports have stated that they have shown their interest in the new teams for the 14th season of IPL.