The Government of India has announced a list of people who will be conferred Padma awards in 2016. The list includes names like South Indian Actor Rajnikant, spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravishankar, sports star Sania Mirza, actress Priyanka Chopra and actor Anupam Kher.

padma awardees2016
source: the hindu

The awards will be given under 3 categories, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. These awards are given on Republic day to people who have excelled in their fields.

padma awards 2016

In the art field film director Madhur Bhandarkar and Actor Ajay devgn also make the list in addition to Anupam Kher and Priyanka Chopra. Both sportstars Sania Mirza and Saina Nehwal are awarded Padma Bhushan. Dhirubhai Ambani is awarded Padma Vibhushan Posthumously.

The list includes 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 83Padma Shri awardees.
19 of the awardees are women.

Now You Can Get the Latest Buzz On Your Phone! Download the PagalParrot Mobile App For Android and IOS