Team India’s squad against West Indies for the ODI format

India’s three-match ODI series against West Indies will be captained by Shikhar Dhawan, the BCCI confirmed on Wednesday (July 6). In a 16-member team that will be without important players Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, and the injured KL Rahul. Dhawan to lead the ODI series with Ravindra Jadeja as his deputy.

Squad:Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

 Dhawan captained India three times in ODIs during the previous year’s trip of Sri Lanka. He will likely open with Ruturaj Gaikwad, as he did in that series, and the national selectors will also likely reintroduce Shubman Gill to the ODI lineup for the first time since the 2020 tour of Australia.

Second wicketkeeper Sanju Samson replaces Pant in the lineup, and pacer Arshdeep Singh, who was selected for the ODIs against England, holds his spot. The team’s spinners include all-rounder Deepak Hooda, Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Axar Patel.

The ODI phase of India’s tour of the West Indies and the United States gets underway in Trinidad on July 22. The tour will then conclude with two T20Is in the United States on August 6 and 7, after which they will play five T20Is against the two-time world champions in Trinidad, St. Kitts, and Lauderhill (Florida).