Facebook, everyone’s favorite social media platform to interact with people online. We use to share our stories, memorable moments, photos and videos with our friends and family members on Facebook. But ever wonder what will happen to your Facebook account if unfortunately, you die one day? Goosebumps! Okay! I’m not here trying to terrify you but to enhance your knowledge about your favorite social media platform is way interesting to know.
There is a policy introduced by the Facebook back in the year 2015. According to Facebook’s community standards, the Facebook profile of a deceased person can be immortalized after death. This particular process is called memorializing an account and only can be done by the family members and the closest friends of the deceased person.
In order to proceed this process, loved ones of the deceased person need to send Facebook a memorialization request after the death of a person, the account belongs to. The memorialized Facebook account differs from a regular account, here, the friends and family members can share memories on the timeline of a deceased person. This account has following features:
- The word “Remembring” appears next to the name of the person.
- Friends and family members can share memories on the timeline.
- Content such as photos, videos and other posts remain visible for friends and family to see.
- These accounts don’t appear in public spaces like People Suggestions or People You May Know.
- No one can log into a memorialized account.
- Memorialized Accounts not signed for legacy contract can’t be changed.
- Memorialized account, the sole admin of the page when connected with a Facebook page, the page will be removed.
- You can also add a legacy contact to a memorialized account which will take care of your account after your death.
Legacy contact can do the following:
- Write a pinned post
- Respond to friend requests
- Update your profile and cover photo
- Download a copy of your shared posts
However, these actions are prohibited via Legacy contact:
- Log in to your account
- Remove or change past photos, posts, and other posts shared on your timeline
- Read your messages
- Remove any of your friends
Of course, a person can notify Facebook in advance that he/she wants their Facebook profile deleted after their death. If he chooses to do nothing, their Facebook account will still remain active because Facebook does not close inactive accounts.